California Highway Patrol and Office of Traffic Safety officials will observe National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 18 – 24, 2016.
Throughout the week, CHP officers will raise awareness of the importance of child safety seats by conducting community events statewide.
California Highway Patrol Child Passenger Safety (CPS) technicians will be available at each event to provide education on how to properly use car seats, booster seats, and seat belts for children. National Seat Check Saturday concludes the week on September 24, 2016, with statewide events and technicians offering instruction to parents and caregivers.
“Ensuring your child is properly secured is a driver’s primary responsibility,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow. “Buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself and your child in the event of a collision.”
To help further reduce the number of deaths and injuries to child passengers, a new California law will take effect on January 1, 2017. The new law will require that children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat.
“We all want to do our best to protect our children when traveling,” said OTS Director Rhonda Craft. “During Child Passenger Safety Week, we urge all parents and caregivers to have your car seat checked by a certified technician. When it comes to the safety of your child, there is no room for mistakes.”
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, child safety seats can reduce fatal injury by up to 71 percent for infants and 54 percent for toddlers (ages 1 to 4).
Parents are encouraged to contact their local CHP Area office to make an appointment with a certified child safety seat technician for a free car seat inspection or to request information on any child passenger safety events taking place in their area.