header image

[Sign Up Now] to Receive Our FREE Daily SCVTV-SCVNews Digest by E-Mail

Santa Clarita CA
Today in
S.C.V. History
July 5
1914 - Rev. Wolcott H. Evans, the future "pastor of the disaster," named pastor of Newhall's First Presbyterian Church [story]

| Friday, Jan 1, 2021
Sulphur Springs Union School District administrative offices.


The Sulphur Springs Union School District chose a new board president for the 2021 year during the district’s organizational board meeting Dec. 16.

The board elected Ken Chase to serve as president for the second time in his seven-year history with the board. He previously served as president in 2018 and has been involved with the district since 2004 by serving on school site councils and various committees.

“(My) focus is to provide the best education to our students with the current COVID restrictions in place and to focus on further opening up the schools to better serve our students while keeping the students, staff, families and the community safe,” said Chase. “The district needs to continue to remain fiscally responsible with the budget cuts brought on by the state due to COVID. We also have construction projects going on at Pinetree and Sulphur Springs (community schools). I am looking forward to their completion in a timely manner and within budget.”

The Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk canceled the elections for SSUSD in August after three candidates ran unopposed.

Shelley Weinstein, previous president of the board, will represent Trustee Area No. 1, Denis DeFigueiredo for Trustee Area No. 2, and Paola Jellings for Trustee Area No. 3.

During the meeting, the board also elected DeFigueiredo as clerk. Weinstein will represent SSUSD for the L.A. County School Trustees Association and the L.A. County Committee on School District Organization.

Jellings was elected to represent the Special Education Local Plan Area (SLEPA) Board Liaison and Chase to represent the CLASS Education Foundation, which aims to provide financial and community resources to support SSUSD students.

Comment On This Story
COMMENT POLICY: We welcome comments from individuals and businesses. All comments are moderated. Comments are subject to rejection if they are vulgar, combative, or in poor taste.
REAL NAMES ONLY: All posters must use their real individual or business name. This applies equally to Twitter account holders who use a nickname.


You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment

Related Content
Latest Additions to SCVNews.com
1914 - Rev. Wolcott H. Evans, the future "pastor of the disaster," named pastor of Newhall's First Presbyterian Church [story]
1932 - Robert Poore wins the greased pole climbing contest and $2.50 at Newhall's July 4th celebration [story]
4th of July Parade
1925 - By letter, Wyatt Earp beseeches his friend William S. Hart to portray him in a movie, to correct the "lies about me." Hart never did. [story]
Hart-Wyatt Earp
1869 - Sanford Lyon (as in Lyons Avenue) appointed postmaster of Petropolis (today's Eternal Valley Cemetery) [story]
Sanford Lyon
1808 - Ygnacio del Valle born in Jalisco, Mexico; owned most of SCV [story]
Ygnacio del Valle
%d bloggers like this: